![]() |
|
|||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||
Got an Ezine Marketing |
EPUB Archives [Thread Prev][Thread Next][Thread][epub] Snow White Virus
For those interested about the possible starting point for the virus in their mailing list, I received this email from Intelliquis: At 09:36 AM 12/22/00 +0000, you wrote: >Dear Intelliquis Customers, > >On the evening of Dec. 19, 2000, Intelliquis began what seemed to be an >innocuous Christmas sales campaign involving our Web Site Traffic Builder >and Web Site Traffic Analyzer software products. To our dismay, an >individual or a group of individuals unknown to us decided to attack our >mail server with a virus. This virus compromised the security of our >customer e-mail list, sending the virus to everyone on the list.The virus >is known as the W95.hybris.gen virus and shows up as a spam mail involving >Snow White and the 7 dwarves. The virus then continue to spread itself as >people continued to reply to the mail list, sending messages back to all >members on the list. > >We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences situation may have caused. >To that end, we're currently taking steps to resolve the current problem >and to ensure that it won't happen again. The FBI is investigating the >origins of the virus, and we are making the following changes to help stop >the spread of the virus. > >At the present time, the Intelliquis mail list promolist@intelliquis.com >has been removed from the Intelliquis mail server and is no longer valid. >All other Intelliquis mail lists have been temporarily disabled to prevent >futher delivery of the virus. The email address webmaster@intelliquis.com >has been temporarily set up as an auto-responder that will send out this >message. The e-mail address jd@intelliquis.com has been temporarily >disabled, and will not be reponding to any messages. It is our hope that >these actions will stop the further spread of this virus. > >To that end, we ask that you please help us in our efforts to stop the >spread of this virus.The first step to take is to NOT reply to this >e-mail, or any e-mail from the e-mail addresses above. This is one of the >ways the virus replicates itself. If you reply to the initial e-mail, the >virus is triggered again and will attach itself to your outgoing e-mails. >Please do not try to remove yourself from any Intelliquis lists at this >time, as our all our list agents have been disabled. > >Second, if you haven't done so already, scan your files with anti-virus >software to clean your system of the virus before you send out any >additional e-mails. You may also want to update your virus software >before you scan to ensure you have the most complete protection available. > >Finally, if you are interested in finding out more about the Hybris virus, >the following links are provided: > >http://www.sarc.com/avcenter/venc/data/w95.hybris.gen.html >http://www.kaspersky.com/news.asp?tnews=1&nview=1&id=134&page=0 >http://vil.mcafee.com/dispVirus.asp?virus_k=98873& >http://www.antivirus.com/vinfo/virusencyclo/default5.asp?VName=TROJ_HYBRIS.B&VSect=T > > > >Sincerely, > >Intelliquis > Stan Daniloski www.internet-trader.us-inc.com -------------------------- eGroups Sponsor -------------------------~-~> With US & International rates as low as 3.9c a minute from Net2Phone Direct Plus Up to 1500 FREE minutes; you can call everyone on your list! http://click.egroups.com/1/10924/0/_/327135/_/977930774/ ---------------------------------------------------------------------_-> Join in on the ezine advertising discussion: mailto:join-list-advertising@list-advertising.com To subscribe to Epub, mailto:epub-subscribe@egroups.com To unsubscribe, mailto:epub-unsubscribe@egroups.com Digest version: mailto:epub-digest@egroups.com Epub archives: http://EzineSeek.com/archives/
Thread Index |
|||||||||||||
© EmailUniverse.com - All Rights Reserved Worldwide - Ezine Publishing Secrets (Coming Soon) ![]() |
||||||||||||||