EmailUniverse.com   Email Newsletter Publishing Strategies  
Search In Epub
 
   
   

   
  Ezine-Tips
  List-News


Got an Ezine Marketing
or Email Newsletter
Question?
AskChrisKnight.com

 

EPUB Archives

[Thread Prev][Thread Next][Thread]

[epub] Re: Trademark violation
When you look at http://srhadenindustries.com/ it's a "coming soon" page, which includes contact info for Kendall Summerhawk. I haven't had a reply from Kendall yet, but this is the reply I got from Haden, when I asked for more info on their ownership:

Thank you for your reply.
 
S.R. Haden Industries (America) has owned the U.S. domain name, trade mark / service mark
 'weekly marketing wisdom' since December 7th 2003.
 
Below see our registration data.
 
Whois Server Version 1.3

Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.

   Domain Name: WEEKLYMARKETINGWISDOM.COM
   Registrar: AAAQ.COM, INC.
   Whois Server: whois.aaaq.com
   Referral URL: http://www.aaaq.com
   Name Server: A.DNS.HOSTWAY.NET
   Name Server: B.DNS.HOSTWAY.NET
   Status: ACTIVE
   Updated Date: 07-dec-2003
   Creation Date: 07-dec-2003
   Expiration Date: 07-dec-2004
We have attempted to contact Ms. Summerhawk several times on this matter to have her remove
 her illegal use of our mark. We have received no response from her.
 Our legal department has advised us that since we own the web site name and have our site published on the internet
 and are in the process of producing products, content and a weekly marketing wisdom ezine,
 we have legal rights to that term and name. If you have any other questions about the legalities of our ownership
 to this trade mark / service mark, we'd be glad to place you in contact with our legal department and
 they will be the ones to answer your questions.
 
Yours Truly
 
Trade Mark / Service Mark Enforcement Department
 
S.R. Haden Industries

I know that owning a domain is not owning a trademark. www.WEEKLYMARKETINGWISDOM.COM is a virtual copy of the haden website, also with Kendalls contact details. The Google ads are for trade marking services!

Thanks for the link to the US trademark site. I couldn't find that phrase listed either. But if using a phrase on a website gives legal rights to that phrase, we could all have legal rights to the entire dictionary!

I get the feeling that it's an internal squabble, as Kendall is listed on their sites, or a scam of some sort. But ... should I remove that article? I don't want legal trouble, but I wouldn't like to think I wasn't backing up a fellow author! The article is listed on other sites, such as SitePro News - p'raps I'll see if they've had any email from this firm.

Thanks for all the feedback!

Dianne Reuby
First Web Builder
http://www.firstwebbuilder.co.uk
Swindon Virtual Office
http://www.swindonvirtualoffice.co.uk
Free Site Builder
http://www.freesitebuilder.co.uk







[Thread Prev][Thread Next][Thread]

Thread Index