![]() |
|
|||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||
Got an Ezine Marketing |
EPUB Archives [Thread Prev][Thread Next][Thread][epub] Re: Trademark violation
Dianne, What did you decide to do? I never saw your final resolution. I would definitely NOT remove Kendall's information. Owning a website URL is not the same as owning a trademark. The person or persons who are running SRHaden do not know what they are talking about. Personally, if I was Kendall, I'd think about suing them for slander and copyright violation since she has been using the name for much longer than they have. To your success, Lois Carter Fay, APR Marketing Strategist, MarketingIdeaShop.com Publisher, "MarketingIdeaShop BRAINY Tidbits" Weekly Ezine Brainy ideas & resources for marketers & small businesses 411 Rainier Road, Massanutten, VA 22840 USA 540.289.3840 or 800.203.8660 http://www.marketingideashop.com mailto:lcf@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx ----- Original Message ----- From: Dianne Reuby To: Epub Discussion Group Sent: Wednesday, May 12, 2004 7:43 PM Subject: [epub] Re: Trademark violation When you look at http://srhadenindustries.com/ it's a "coming soon" page, which includes contact info for Kendall Summerhawk. I haven't had a reply from Kendall yet, but this is the reply I got from Haden, when I asked for more info on their ownership: Thank you for your reply. S.R. Haden Industries (America) has owned the U.S. domain name, trade mark / service mark 'weekly marketing wisdom' since December 7th 2003. Below see our registration data. Whois Server Version 1.3 Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net for detailed information. Domain Name: WEEKLYMARKETINGWISDOM.COM Registrar: AAAQ.COM, INC. Whois Server: whois.aaaq.com Referral URL: http://www.aaaq.com Name Server: A.DNS.HOSTWAY.NET Name Server: B.DNS.HOSTWAY.NET Status: ACTIVE Updated Date: 07-dec-2003 Creation Date: 07-dec-2003 Expiration Date: 07-dec-2004 We have attempted to contact Ms. Summerhawk several times on this matter to have her remove her illegal use of our mark. We have received no response from her. Our legal department has advised us that since we own the web site name and have our site published on the internet and are in the process of producing products, content and a weekly marketing wisdom ezine, we have legal rights to that term and name. If you have any other questions about the legalities of our ownership to this trade mark / service mark, we'd be glad to place you in contact with our legal department and they will be the ones to answer your questions. Yours Truly Trade Mark / Service Mark Enforcement Department S.R. Haden Industries I know that owning a domain is not owning a trademark. www.WEEKLYMARKETINGWISDOM.COM is a virtual copy of the haden website, also with Kendalls contact details. The Google ads are for trade marking services! Thanks for the link to the US trademark site. I couldn't find that phrase listed either. But if using a phrase on a website gives legal rights to that phrase, we could all have legal rights to the entire dictionary! I get the feeling that it's an internal squabble, as Kendall is listed on their sites, or a scam of some sort. But ... should I remove that article? I don't want legal trouble, but I wouldn't like to think I wasn't backing up a fellow author! The article is listed on other sites, such as SitePro News - p'raps I'll see if they've had any email from this firm. Thanks for all the feedback! Dianne Reuby First Web Builder http://www.firstwebbuilder.co.uk Swindon Virtual Office http://www.swindonvirtualoffice.co.uk Free Site Builder http://www.freesitebuilder.co.uk [Thread Prev][Thread Next][Thread] Thread Index |
|||||||||||||
© EmailUniverse.com - All Rights Reserved Worldwide - Ezine Publishing Secrets (Coming Soon) ![]() |
||||||||||||||