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Brian Alt

CPM Guidelines for Ezine Topics
By Brian Alt



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This question is everywhere: How much should I charge for ads? Today's tip offers some guidance for ezine ad pricing, based upon the topic of your ezine and its intended audience.

CPM (cost per thousand impressions) is a useful term here. Whether or not you actually charge per thousand, you should know what your CPM is in relation to other ezines. If you charge $50 per ad and have a circulation of around 5000, then your CPM is $10.

Here's a general breakdown of advertising rates per topic. I'm basing this on my observations over the past two years, so they're only "standards" in the sense that they're what I perceive everyone to be doing. You may be seeing different things.

1. Joke/Humor Ezines - $0.50 - $5 per thousand. Humor ezines interest nearly everyone, and are thus relatively easy to grow. For the same reason (lack of a precise target or niche), they command a lower rate than other ezines.

2. Tips, Quotes, and Trivia Ezines - $1 - $10 per thousand. Again, these are pretty general interest. These are often published daily, to create more advertising inventory to sell and make up for the relatively low CPM.

3. Internet Marketing Ezines - $4 - $20 per thousand. These are supposed to target "Internet businesspeople", and thus can command a higher CPM. Unfortunately, the sheer glut of ezines on this topic and lack of high-quality content lowers the value of advertising revenue in this space.

4. Truly Specialized Topics - $10 - $75+ per thousand. Ezines for specific business or consumer niches would fit here. You'll stand the best chance of receiving the higher end of this range if your ezine is the only one or biggest one on the topic, and if you or your ad sales representative can locate the right advertisers for your target audience.

These numbers are in no way set in stone. If you can sell ads in a joke list for a $40 CPM, go for it. It all depends on what the market will bear.

These numbers should help you determine how big your list will need to be for you to start turning a profit, after you factor in costs for hosting your list, labor involved, cost of acquiring subscribers and advertisers, and so on. More on profitability in an upcoming issue.

Ezine-Tips for November 15, 1999

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